Laurie Scott coasts to victory

By Lindsay Advocate

Last night’s Ontario election was easy coasting for Laurie Scott, the Progressive Conservative candidate.

With all 99 polls reporting, Scott got 32,605 votes (56.7 per cent of the vote) while the NDP’s Zac Miller was runner-up with 15,209 votes (26.5 per cent).

The Liberal candidate Brooklynne Cramp-Waldinsperger finished third with 5,688 votes (9.9 per cent of the vote).

Green Party candidate Lynn Therien got 2,584 votes, followed by None of the Above candidate Thomas Rhyno (621 votes), Libertarian Gene Balfour (455 votes), and Consensus Ontario candidate Chuck MacMillan (312 votes.)

This election means Scott, who was first elected in 2003, will for the first time be part of a majority government in power.

1 Comment

  1. Joan says:

    Congratulations to MPP Scott who has always worked hard for this community and heartfelt thanks to all the candidates who ran. Without opposition, there is no democracy. Free expression, open debate, and criticism of incumbent governments and their policies and programs are vital to our interests in staying social and institutional corruption.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.